Friends of 
Mason Neck State Park
  • Home
  • News
  • Friends of Mason Neck State Park Toured the Lexington Plantation Archaeological Site

Friends of Mason Neck State Park Toured the Lexington Plantation Archaeological Site

04 Apr 2018 1:52 PM | Thomas Blackburn (Administrator)


About thirty people participated in members-only tours of the colonial-era Lexington Plantation archaeological site on March 31.  George Mason V, the son of George Mason of Gunston Hall, was the first owner of the plantation, which is located in an area of the Mason Neck State Park that is normally closed to visitors.




We had a pleasant walk through the early spring woods to the site, thanks to the Park Staff, who had cleared fallen trees and leaves along the way; there is no established trail.  






Three of the Friends related the history of the plantation and explained the buildings, ice house and unique falling gardens at the site.  










No buildings remain at the site; the residence burned to the ground in 1879.  However, the cellar hole and rubble from the two chimneys are still visible, as is debris from the office, dairy, kitchen and smokehouse.  







The outlet from a massive ice house and the well are still visible.


   


The site, which was once cleared, is now becoming re-forested.  However, heirloom "Van Sion" double daffodils, which were originally planted when the plantation house was inhabited, are still visible at the site, as they are elsewhere on Mason Neck and other old homesites.  


 


 


To preserve the archaeological site, access to Lexington is prohibited except on formal tours, which are scheduled once every year or two.  



© 2017 Friends of Mason Neck State Park, Inc.
Logo by Floyd Harrison
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software